The history walk on Frick Lane was created to enhance the walk-way and preserve early Langley history. The project was completed by Langley Main Street Association under the leadership of Board Member, Robert Waterman.
Five steel and fiberglass panels were installed which tell the story through photos and words of early Langley, from the first woman Mayor, Helen Cole, and the all women council, to the street scenes from the early 1900’s.
Two antique street lamps were placed in the lane, which match the lamp on First Street, brought to Langley by the LaRue Family in the 1970’s. The iconic wood and glass archway was restored and internal lights repaired. New trees were installed and plants added through the help of a grant from the South Whidbey Garden Club. Much of the work in the lane was completed by volunteers, helping to defray the cost of the project. A ribbon cutting ceremony was held on Saturday April 23 by Mayor Tim Callison and Robert Waterman officially opening the Lane.
The Frick Lane Enhancement is another wonderful public realm improvement the makes the City of Langley such a special place.